The Chester Municipal Heritage
Society was established in 1981
to promote and cultivate
awareness of the unique
heritage of the
Municipality of
the District of Chester
for the
enjoyment and benefit of
present and future generations
through the preservation of
historically significant
properties and the delivery of
educational programming.
Maple Cottage
Chester Municipal Heritage Society
75 Regent Street, Chester, NS
Maple Cottage, originally built in 1870, houses the society office, washrooms,  the
research and educational areas for the museum.
It is the first municipal building in the municipality and contains the original desk
and safe used by Mr. Charles Lordly, the first Municipal Clerk, his son the second
clerk/treasurer and Mr.Cottman Smith the third clerk.  The building houses
minutes from early council meetings, Lordly's correspondence and materials
from the MacNutt collection help to reflect the political and economic
development of the Municipality of the District of Chester and cover the period of
1870 - 1937. Photographs reflect the changing landscape and the development of
the village and municipality over the years.
In 1879 Chester had become its own municipality when it was officially separated
from the Municipality of Lunenburg.  It was now responsible for its own affairs
and development. 
This was a time when the American tourist industry flourished, large summer
homes were built and large hotels dotted the village. It was claimed that Chester
had at least 300 rooms available at any time. The railroad from Halifax had not yet
been built to the village but passenger vessels arrived regularly from there.
Chester was also the main land route from Halifax to the Annapolis Valley and so
was a bustling municipality.  It grew from a rural area providing wood, produce
and building materials for Halifax to an area of tourism and small manufacturing.
To access our files call 902-275-3826 or 902-275-5179
Closed for the season
© Chester Municipal Heritage Society 2013