© Chester Municipal Heritage Society 2013
The Chester Municipal Heritage
Society was established in 1981
to promote and cultivate
awareness of the unique
heritage of the
Municipality of
the District of Chester
for the
enjoyment and benefit of
present and future generations
through the preservation of
historically significant
properties and the delivery of
educational programming.
Chester Municipal Heritage Society
Lordly House
The Lordly House Museum is a municipal  museum that works toward
promoting and cultivating awareness of the unique heritage of the
Municipality of the District of Chester.   Known originally as Evergreen
Hall, the house was built circa 1806 by Captain McCurdy who was
later lost at sea.  It  became the home of Charles Ingles Lordly, the
first Municipal Clerk, and his wife Margaret McCurdy. 
The Lordlys were enthusiastic workers on amateur theatricals and
entertainments for the church and welfare activities and hosted many
parties.  The Lordly family has been described as, “vivacious and
ambitious,” “public spirited,” “always ready to assist in the general well
fare of the community”.  A Lordly was always a warden or vestry clerk
of St. Stephen’s Anglican Church just across the street.
The house is a fine example of Georgian architecture with six
fireplaces, two parlours, a kitchen, a dining-room, and six bedrooms. 
There is a servants’ staircase in the dining-room still with  ‘original’
leather straps,  which aided ascent to the second floor. 
It was the centre of cultural and social life in the community and has
been continuously lived in, with two short exceptions, since it was
built.  It is mostly original condition but there were some changes over
time - an addition on the north side and alterations to the roof line
(now restored).
Lordly House,
133 Central Street, Chester, NS
Closed for the season Opening June 15, 2022
 To arrange an  appointment at other times:   Call 902-275-3826 or 902-275-2030